Posted in Poetry, Uncategorized

Poetry – If You Were Here

If you were here instead of me,
You’d be doing life so much better than me.
You were a diamond and I’m cut glass
You’d always excel while I just pass
You were a star burning blindingly bright
I was a moon that reflected your light.
If you were here instead of me
You’d have the whole world lying at your feet.

If you were here instead of me
I know you’d say that I’m being too hard on me;
You’d tell me that I’m a precious gem
You’d tell me I’d be brilliant when
I’d got a bit polished, a bit less rough,
And till then I was more than good enough
With charm and my share of talents,
You’d say that I’m fairly great on balance

But you were so much more than me,
Way up on a different level to me
And everyone else we ever knew,
No-one could ever compare to you.
You were a diamond, a beautiful star
And you were supposed to travel so far,
You were supposed to soar so high
But you were gone in the blink of an eye.

I should be gone instead of you
The world hardly ever gets someone like you,
There’s not much that would change if I wasn’t here
But you were way up on the highest tier,
One of a kind, but me, I’m ten-a-penny
I wouldn’t be missed by nearly so many,
You should be the one the world still has around
And I should be the one lying in the ground.

But I am here instead of you
So the least I can do is my best by you
Because you loved me more than anyone else
I know you wouldn’t want me to waste myself,
So though I’m only cut glass, I’ll do my best
To make a good mark, and stand out from the rest
I’ll try as hard as I can, and just maybe
A bit of your brilliance rubbed off on me.

If you were here instead of me,
I know that you’d never forget about me.
You’d go through your life, you’d rise so far
You’d be a diamond, you’d be a star,
And then you would turn around and declare
That you’d have done better if I’d been there
You thought I was a diamond too
Because I suppose that I was, to you.

So since I’m here instead of you
I need to make sure I do the same for you,
To make sure your memory’s embossed
Onto the world, that you’re never lost
I’ll be a diamond, I’ll do it for you,
I know how much you’d have wanted me to.
I’ll do all that I can to be
At least half the star that you would have been.

Leave a comment