Posted in Poetry, Uncategorized

Poetry – Done With You

It's high time that we had a chat –
Except, no, let me rephrase that;
I'll be doing the talking now,
You, for once, will sit and listen,
It’s well past time I told you how

I'm done with being reasonable,
I never owed you anything!
I'm so sick of appeasing you,
So now we're doing things my way,
Or you’ll learn just what I can do.
I don't know how you've never seen
That you've got nothing over me,
Maybe I am partly to blame;
I’ve humoured you for far too long
When you played your pathetic games,

But pay attention, read my lips,
You don't hold any cards
I know you've got your scars,
But those aren't down to me,
And I refuse to be
A punching bag for you,
I really don't care who
Thinks less of me because of that.

You think that you're not scared of me,
Because you think you've seen it all,
You think you've seen me at my worst
Because you've witnessed my outbursts
Of irritation, seen me rage,
You know I can be a fireball.

But listen very carefully,
It really is time you were told
That yes, you have seen me on fire
And even when things have seemed dire
You're never scared, but listen now;
You've never seen me cold.

Until now I’ve just reacted
To all your stupid, nasty stunts,
You’ve always caught me unaware,
And I’ve lashed out in the moment,
And that's something you've found fun.

But mess with me just one more time,
I swear, I’m coming after you;
Believe me, I'll destroy your life,
Make all your friends abandon you,
And that's not even all I'll do,

I swear, you’ll be left with nothing,
And if you think this is a bluff,
Go right ahead, but otherwise
Just back off now, because trust me,
No-one wants a road that rough.

Leave a comment