Posted in Uncategorized, Walks

Malham Tarn Moss

This is a walk I did in mid-April. It’s only a little walk – though it can be done as part of a longer walk – but it’s very charming. It’s a little trail around Tarn Moss, a boggy area near Malham Tarn.

Tarn Moss is a nature reserve, because apparently the plant life there is quite special. You’re not allowed to walk on the ground, there’s a wooden walkway to go on instead, and signs telling you not to step off it. I don’t think a sensible person would anyway. Some bits of the bog are straight out pools of water, and while I don’t know what the drier looking bits are like, I wouldn’t want to test it. It must be relatively firm in some bits because we saw some deer, but still. Best to stick to the walkway regardless of conservation efforts, bogs are not to be trusted.

For some reason, I have a real liking for walkways like this one. I just like the way they look against the landscape, so I enjoyed walking around here.

So there’s not much directions I can give, you just follow the walkway. There’s two ways onto it, one very close to the tarn, one off the road further away. We went through the latter. From here, there’s a little loop around what seemed like the wettest area. I admit, I didn’t see anything that particularly interested me in this bit. I believe that the plant life is important, but it all just looked like a load of brown. It was pretty, but as I’ve said before, I’m spoilt when it comes to countryside, so I find it hard to express my appreciation. But I do appreciate it.

I did hear something while I was in this bit. Some kind of animal, hiding in the marsh somewhere. I can’t really hazard a guess at what – in fact I can’t really remember what the noise sounded like – but there was definitely something.

Tarn Moss 10

Then there’s a bit coming off the loop, and that leads towards the tarn. The difference between the bits is that the loop is wheelchair and pushchair accessible, but the bit going towards the tarn is not because it’s narrower. I assume it has to be because of how the ground is or something. This bit isn’t a loop, you can just walk along and back along it. This bit goes over a few pools of water and through some wooded bits, and it gets greener in bits. It was in the woods that we saw the deer. They were a way off, and I didn’t get any decent pictures, but much as I love taking photos it really is just a bonus. I know there are deer around where I live and in a lot of the places I go walking, but seeing them is a rarity. And usually when I do spot one, it darts away half a second later. But we were stood upwind of these ones, so they didn’t notice us. From part of the walkway you can see Malham Tarn, and I think you must probably be able to reach it if you were to cut across the land. But I’ve already said why that wouldn’t be a good thing to do, so I didn’t test this. Eventually, the walkway comes to an end, in another bit of woodland, and you get a regular path instead. This path leads up to a little road. We turned right and walked along this road for a little while, going towards the tarn. Along the way I saw some interesting trees. There was a cluster of ones that just looked like giant sticks coming out of the ground, and one that was really tall but had no branches or anything until right at the top. Those are the ones that caught my eye, I’d imagine there’s probably some other odd ones. I’m having trouble finding information about this woodland, so I’m just going to assume there was a tree planting period in the wood’s history. We walked as far as the birdwatchers’ hide that’s been built at the edge of the lake, and since there were no birdwatchers in it, we went and had a bit of a look out. We didn’t see many birds – we didn’t stay that long, so that’s not surprising – but it was a nice view across the tarn. Malham Tarn 3

Then we just walked back the way we’d come, back to the accessible loop and round the bit of that we hadn’t done yet. And that was it, that was the walk. Again, it can be part of a larger walk, but that was the walk we did. Thanks for reading, photos are here.

Leave a Reply

