Posted in Poetry, Uncategorized

Poetry – Lost

You really do love me,
I know that that’s true.
If anything hurt me
That would destroy you.
That’s the truth and I know it,
That you truly love me.
But when you look at my face
He’s the one that you see.

You know I don’t blame you,
I can’t know the pain.
You’d die if you had to
Go through that again.
And I know it must hurt you,
How I look just like him.
How can you keep moving on
When I’m almost his twin?

I know that you love me,
Please know that I know,
But I wish you could show it some more.
I know in my mind
That I’m first in your life,
But in my heart, it’s hard to be sure.

I know I’m being selfish,
I shouldn’t expect
More than I know that you can manage.
I know I’ve got plenty,
You give me enough,
You push on despite all the damage.

You really do love me,
I know that that’s true,
And I know that I can’t
Expect more of you.
You’re doing all that you can
You’re the best you can be,
But I’m dreaming that one day
You’ll look and see me.

One thought on “Poetry – Lost

Leave a Reply

