Posted in Holidays

Cayton Bay 2015

I know I don’t upload very often, but I’m going to have to shape myself these next couple of months, because I’ve got quite a number of posts I want to do. Not like a lot lot, but a lot for me. I admittedly haven’t got off to a great start, since it’s already halfway through August.

Well, all the more reason to put this up.

I’ve recently spent a week at Cayton Bay, which is somewhere I’ve been before, but… I’ve been again now. And because my life is fascinating and I’m sure people just love reading about my holidays, this calls for two posts; one for an account of what was done, one for photos. This post will also have a few pictures, though, for decorative purposes.

So, first of all, Cayton is a little place about equadistance between Scarborough and Filey, and it has a very nice beach of it’s own. So it’s pretty and well situated, which are both good qualities in a holiday destination.

You can see the travel magazines lining up to hire me, right?

Anyway, it’s a large beach. We had good weather while we were there, but it was never really warm enough to go in the sea, but I did anyway because I wasn’t going to go stay next to a beach for a week and not go in the sea.

Other than that, we went for a few walks there, along the cliff tops. I back along from Filey one day, which was at least a mile longer than I’m used to running, and I was ratty and exhausted by the end of it, but I did get to see some absolutely lovely views. I didn’t have my camera with me when I was running though, so the only pictures I have are of Cayton Bay itself.

Pillboxes
Pillboxes

But no matter, it’s a pretty bay. And it’s got a couple of little structures on it. I don’t think I took a look at them last time, but I did this time. They’re just like little buildings, covered in graffiti. I’m looking this up as I’m writing, and apparently they’re something called pillboxes, built during WW2 in case of an invasion. I actually did know there’d been some stuff built up on the cliffs, I just somehow didn’t connect that with the ones down on the beach. Some of the sites are saying these ones would have been up on the cliffs originally, and that one of them is actually upside down – which, knowing what they are, I can actually see now. I did notice at the time that one had a roof and one didn’t, I just didn’t really think much about it.

DSCF5769
Scarborough Castle keep

We also went to Scarborough a couple of times. Since it was a family holiday and there is a child in the family we went to the Sea Life Centre. I mean, I think most people probably like going to see animals anyway, but I think it would look maybe a tad on the odd side to go to one without a child.

And we went to Scarborough Castle. It’s not a very intact castle; there’s the keep and a few other bits of wall and the remains of some rooms, but that’s it. That’s not a complaint, it was a cool place to wander around, and the views were, frankly, stunning. It’s the perfect place to have put a castle, that’s certain.

How about I do some more reasearch? Then I’ll have something to say. I remember some of the history that I read while I was there, but I always like to check things before I assert them in my blog. So, here’s a brief history of Scarborough Castle from someone who’s looking it up as she goes along.

It was built during the reign of King Stephen, but the spot had been used well before that, because, as even I could work out on my own, it’s a good spot. Henry II later confiscated it, and he, King John, and Henry III all did work on it. It was attacked a few times during the hundred years war, because that area is just a good place to attack if you’re coming at England from the sea. It was later used in the Civil War where it changed hands seven times, and then the Parliamentarians slighted it – basically, partially wrecked it so it couldn’t be used anymore. But it was later used as a prison in the 17th and 18th centuries, and then it got more destroyed in 1914 when the German Navy shelled Scarborough, along with Whitby and Hartlepool.

Not a thorough history, but I never meant it to be; just a brief summary really.

As for my opinion on this castle; I like castles, so I liked this castle, for I am a castle sort of person. I also like taking photos, and this was a great point for taking them from – as well as of the castle itself – so that was a nice bonus.

Also in Scarborough I had a brief wander round the coast area, not far, but I got some nice pictures out of it.

One of the days we went to Robin Hood’s Bay. It’s got nothing to do with Robin Hood, I’ve no idea why it’s called that. I guess I should look that up.

OK, apparently no-one really knows why it’s called that. Apparently ‘Robin Hood’ also used to be the name of some mythical forest or elf creature, and was used across the country in legends, so that seems the most likely origin.

Robin Hoods Bay
Robin Hoods Bay

It’s known for its’ history of being used by smugglers. It’s a really pretty village – I mean, I can’t think of any village – or town or city – that I’ve been to that I’d call ugly. Maybe some bits of a place, but not generally the place itself. But Robin Hood’s Bay really is a remarkably lovely looking place. Proper little seaside village, the houses have that traditional look to them. And it’s built on a slope too, which, living in a town built on a slope myself, I am aware can get a bit tiring to walk through, but it really does add to the character of the place.

Apart from that, we just relaxed, hung about Cayton Bay. Popped into Filey a couple of times but didn’t really do anything of note. So yeah, that’s about it. I’ll try not to take too long with the photo post.

One thought on “Cayton Bay 2015

Leave a Reply

