Posted in Walks

Wycoller

Wycoller
Wycoller

Warning: In this post I rabbit on about basically nothing. I would not make a good travel writer. But it’s what I’ve got to post right now, even if it’s not terribly interesting.

One of the nicest little walks I know is from Ball Grove Park to Wycoller, near Colne. It is a little walk, and very simple. You park at Ball Grove Park, and from there the path is mostly pretty clear. You follow the water. I say water because it’s not really fit to be called a river, but I’m not sure I’d call it a stream of a beck either. The name I can find for it is ‘Colne Water’, so apparently it’s not just me.

Duck pond at Ball Grove Park.
Duck pond at Ball Grove Park.

The entire walk is just pure lovelyness. I can’t describe it any other way, it’s just beautiful all the way. You walk down a little road, past a playground, then a big duck pond. You can’t really see the duck pond from the lane you’re walking along, but there’s a few little paths you can just nip along and take a look. I know I’m just talking about a duck pond here but it’s very pretty, and a large point of the point of walking in the country is to appreciate how nice it all looks.

Then further down the lane, across a field, to a path. There’s another body of water, with a little jetty going out over it, which I always have to go along. I just have things I always do on certain walks, and no matter how many times I see this little jetty I have to go along with. Even if there’s no water in that part, which there wasn’t last time I went. It was all just mud. I saw a rabbit on it. The poor ducks were all crammed into what water there was left, and there were a lot of ducks. They were all young ones, not quite fully grown, but too big to be ducklings, and they were all still brown. I don’t know why, but I always find ducks vaguely amusing when they’re at this point. I am easily amused.

Anyway, down the paths, across some bridges, until you reach Laneshaw Bridge, a little village. Straight across the road, through a gate, and through some more fields. At this point Colne Water becomes Wycoller Beck, that affects nothing, I’m just mentioning random stuff. It makes me feel like an actual writer, to mention facts rather than just ramble on, even if they’re not remotely useful facts. And it pads out the length of the blog, which is a very bad thing for a writer to do, but I think I can get away with doing it here.

So you just carry on following the beck. That makes sense, now it’s named after the place you’re heading for. The path is by the beck most of the way. It’s a clear path. I can never quite remember the exact way, but it’s easy enough to pick up on.

Wycoller itself is a very small village. It was actually pretty much abandoned for a while. It was a farming and weaving community, and the weavers started moving out to work in mills in other towns. That’s why the village is so small, a lot of houses were removed. What’s left of the village though, is very pretty.

The main attraction is Wycoller Hall, which is just ruins now. I love ruins, so I love that. There’s an old pack horse bridge going across to it, which is very uneven, but you’ve just got to cross it if you can. It’s not the only bridge, but it has a lot of character, I feel.

Wycoller Hall
Wycoller Hall

The ruins at Wycoller aren’t the most extensive ruins I’ve ever seen, but there’s enough that it’s always fun for a look. There’s a few doorways about, quite a bit of the walls left, and the fireplace which you can sit in. I think it’s worth visiting.

And there’s a good little visitors barn, which has quite a lot of information about the area. I always find that kind of thing fairly interesting. Worth a look, at least. And behind the barn, there’s a little picnic area, and another duck pond.

And then we go back the same way. It’s not a big walk, but it is a very nice little one for seeing the countryside.

I was having trouble writing this post because it really isn’t a very long walk, but then I started rambling about stuff, and maybe took that a little too far. Oh well. Thanks for looking.

5 thoughts on “Wycoller

Leave a Reply

