Posted in Walks

Cowling Pinnacle

Also Sutton Pinnacle, but I refer to this walk as just walking to Cowling Pinnacle, because… well, that’s just what my father has always called it, so I adopted the habit. Sutton Pinnacle is just ‘the tower’, I only ever went looking for its name when uploading pictures of it to Flickr. Upon looking further into this, I find it is also known as Lund’s Tower, and that Cowling Pinnacle is Wainman’s Pinnacle. I should try looking up the stuff I know more often, it’s weird that I never had a name for that tower when it has more than one.

Image
Looking up at the tower

Anyway, this is just another of the walks we do sometimes, a very short, easy walk, the way we do it anyway. It’s in North Yorkshire, Sutton and Cowling are both villages, but we never actually go to them in this walk, we just go look at their pinnacles. We always park on the road below the tower, and we just walk up to it, hang around there for a while, then wander over to the pinnacle (yes, they both can be called that, but I’ll always be referring to the Cowling one), and sit around there for a while longer, then walk back. Nice and easy.

So, the tower. The first few times we did the walk, when I was a lot younger, I wouldn’t go up. It’s not that I was afraid of falling off it, it’s that I was afraid it would fall over while I was on or in it. I’m always frightened of stuff like that; whenever I’ve been on a climbing wall there’s been a part of my mind that’s been convinced it will topple over on top of me. But I’m scared of a lot of things, and eventually I just forced myself to go up, and now I always go up. If I come down and realise we’ll be there a while longer I’ll probably go up again. Since I got my camera I’ve certainly been more motivated, because I may be scared of heights, but I realise I can get good pictures from up there.

Image
Looking down from the tower

I’ve tried looking up the history of the tower, to give this post a bit more of a point, but it seems no-one’s entirely sure why it’s there. My research (which admittedly isn’t the most thorough in the world, but I have put some effort in, I didn’t just click on the first result) informs it was built in 1887, commissioned in 1887 by a man called James Lund, either to commemorate something to do with his daughter Ethel (her birth? her birthday? her death? All of these came up), which is why it apparently can also be called Ethel Tower (I did check out quite a few sources last time I looked this up, I don’t know how I only found one name for it then), or for Queen Victoria’s Jubilee. Whatever reason for its existence, it’s there and there’s a great view from the top, and it is absolutely worth going up it.

As for the pinnacle… that also doesn’t have a very certain history, and I’m not finding a lot of sources. All I can find is that the original one was torn down and rebuilt in 1900, and that the original had been there for a good while before that. It might have been built to commemorate the battle of Waterloo, but I am not going to claim to actually know this, because it also might have been built to commemorate the death/safe return (you see how hard it is to find the facts here?) of a soldier during the Civil War. The Wainman’s were people who owned land in the area. So… yeah, that’s all I could find, and I have no evidence it’s right. I just wanted to make a more interesting post.

Image
Cowling Pinnacle

It’s a nice place to go sit anyway, and it’s in a very good position; you also have great views from here. Really, I always find myself taking pictures all the way along during the walk, because the entire place is just lovely.

So yeah, not a lot to write about here, but it’s a nice little walk, so I thought I’d do a post on it.

Leave a Reply

